Another Rejection in the Bank

So, the third rejection came back. While not as direct as the last rejection, when the first paragraph is an apology for using a form letter, you can have a pretty strong idea of what the second paragraph contains. Generic statement, didn’t feel it was right, wasn’t drawn in, good luck elsewhere, don’t forget to tip your waitress. 

*Vent incoming – no relevant content – feel free to skip*

I’m certain I have said it before, but it bears repeating; screw queries. The notion of recruiting novelists based on their skill as pamphlet writers is, on it’s face, ridiculous. I know you are supposed to sell yourself, and by extension your book as a product, but if I wanted to be a salesman I’d fuck the hell off away from this keyboard and go be a salesman. That’s the ticket. Go be a car salesman. I can beat people with my manuscript if they refuse to spring for the extended warranty, and then leave it in the trunk of the nicer car on the lot so when the other salesmen try to take people for a test drive in it the text goes *thunk* every time they hit a bump or make a turn. Why the fuck not. 

*Vent complete – now returning to regular blog post – thanks for playing along*

So, that’s that. I’m either 0/3 or 3/3, depending on how one chooses to count. When Tuesday at the Office is all the way up, I’m going to head back and take another run at revising my query letter. Getting it revised has been a frustrating process, but it’s either build a good query or self-publish. Yvonne [over here] has been pushing towards the latter. Honestly, considering the shared-world nature of our work, she may have a point, but part of me still wants to say that I’m published. I know it really isn’t all it’s cracked up to be; I have no illusions about being able to run screaming away from my day job even if all the editors and executives give me the green light, or of achieving any prestige outside of some very small circles, but it would still be nice to be able to file that as an accomplishment. 

I was about to indulge in a tangent about aluminum, but I think it deserves a post of it’s own. It’s become something of a pet metal since I started thinking through the world, and the implications of a post-1900’s civilization (that knows how to refine aluminum via the Hall–Héroult Process) having trade relations with a pseudo-1500’s civilization (that doesn’t). It might have to wait until after Tuesday is done. We’ll just have to play it by ear for now.

 

-PTK

Leave a Reply

